Villagers win Meteor Choice Music Prize 2013

Conor J O'Brien

Conor J O'Brien

Villagers have won the 2013 Meteor Choice Music Prize album of the year award for their L.P {Awayland} at a ceremony in Vicar Street in Dublin.

Nominated for their stellar sophomore record {Awayland}, Conor O’Brien and co. were announced as the winners of the 2013 ‘Album of the Year’ fending off tough competition from the likes of O Emperor and Little Green Cars. The group join the plethora of past winners including Jape and Adrian Crowley.

The ‘Song of the Year’ category was won by Irish hip-hop act O.R.B for their single brilliant ‘Never Gonna Walk Away’.

For the full list of this year’s Meteor Choice Music Prize 2013 album and song of the year nominees see below.

Album of the Year nominees:

And So I Watch You From Afar – All Hail Bright Futures (Sargent House)
Bell X1 – Chop Chop (Belly Up Records)
Girls Names – The New Life (Tough Love)
Kodaline – In A Perfect World (Sony Music)
Little Green Cars – Absolute Zero (Universal Music)
Mano Le Tough – Changing Days (Permanent Vacation)
My Bloody Valentine – MBV (MBV Records)
O Emperor – Vitreous (Big Skin)
Lisa O’ Neill – Same Cloth or Not (Song Seeds Records)
Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino) (WINNER)

Song of the Year nominees:

Daithí – Chameleon Life (Sony Music)
Hozier – Take Me To Church (Rubyworks)
I am The Cosmos – Look Me In The Eye (Self Released)
James Vincent McMorrow – Cavalier (Believe Recordings)
Kodaline – Brand New Day (Sony Music)
New Jackson – Sat Around Here Waiting (Hivern Discs)
O.R.B – Never Gonna Walk Away (Rubyworks) (WINNER)
The Strypes – You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover (Universal)
Two Door Cinema Club – Changing of The Seasons (Parlophone/Warner Music)
Villagers – Nothing Arrived (Domino)

%d bloggers like this: